Social media shorts


 JWT (J.Walter Thompson, one of the oldest American advertising agencies) recently invited MECA students to apply to join their Young Commodores Club.  Working under the supervision of Keni Thacker and JWT professionals, beginning in February, nine MECA students will work with college students from City College and Miami Ad School to produce campaigns for actual clients. The club meets once a week on Wednesdays after school, through end of May at the offices of JWT.  Congratulations to Anthony Galante, Jordan Crayton, Elise Slaughter, Patrycja Danowska, Jefry Lopez, Jaida Roberts, Ashely MeNdez, Nicole Nelson and Paul Flores!



Friday, March 17th was an incredible day for MECA. Five student teams participated in MECA’s third 4A’s REACT Advertising Competition. This year’s client was SPOTIFY and the host agency was JWT. During the morning, teams worked with their mentors to add finishing touches and practice their presentations. After lunch, the Spotify marketing group judged each student presentation while other teams watched. All the MECA teams were very impressive resulting in the judges awarding all the participants with a 3- month premium membership to Spotify. 


“Young MC’s”, Jordan Crayton, Marc Diaz, Jaida Roberts, Elise Slaughter, Jhamlyn Vasquez


“FFTY”, Tyana Bryan, Akethia Arthurs, Kiyah Gibbs, Jaelene Santiago, Mileena Sumler, Ocean Valentine


“#1“, Nicole Nelson, Fatty Niang, Tshering Ome, Victoria Ervin

We are very grateful to Mr. Benoit and the 4A’s for producing this authentic learning experience.  We would like to express our heartfelt thanks to all the advertising professionals from agencies who came to mentor and support the MECA teams: JWT, Momentum, Hearts and Science, Ketchum, Carat/Dentsu agencies, MetaVision and SpikeDDB. 



Congratulations to the MECA community for winning the NYC DOE High School Directory Cover Contest. 

This was our first time submitting and we had five finalists: Anthony Galante, Tyler Herrera, Christopher Mercado, Josiah Rivera and Kiara Rosa. The students were invited to participate in several feedback session with a professional designer at the Cooper Hewitt Design Museum. Kiara Rosa took first place and her design will be on the cover of the high school directory. Christopher Mercado took second place and his design will be on the cover of the middle school directory. Thank you to our newest CTE teacher, Mr. Carl Landegger and the hard work of all the students in Visual Thinking 2. We are all so proud at MECA for this grand accomplishment!



Ms. Sun invited 38 of her VTL1 students to learn how to give a tour of design exhibitions at the MAD (Museum of Art and Design). Several alumni from previous years at MAD worked as assistant teachers as well: Paul Flores, Dillon Li, Jefry Lopez Rincon and Laisha Arias. CONGRATS to our very impressive freshmen teams:

Team 1:  Tristen Almonte, Jazmin Bernard, Andrea Cacha, Sannachi Del, Adrian Gonzalez, Alice Handweker, Erczika He Zapata, Avar He Zapata, Tahj Wayne Hewitt, Britney Hunte, Nayeli Jorge, Chad Lenhardt, Angelique Mcmanus, Tahmina Miah, Miguel Moina, Christina Phillip, Samantha Rojas Cabrera, Mathew Wallace, Jahyra Williams and
Samantha Martin. 

Team 2:  Jordan Crayton, Jeremiah Delgado, Marc Diaz, Jessica Garvin, Justin Hall, Michael
Hernandez, Tiffany Marcial, Miguel Moina, Nelson Medina, Jaida Roberts, Mariela Salvador Leon, Elise Slaughter, Leandra Sprosta, Favor Udechi, Jhamelyn Vasquez, and Khyla Vaughn.